A Set of Tips for the Storytellers

Fiction writing is fun for most of us. The option is there to create a set of characters that interact just perfectly with each other to move the exciting plot along. It’s an amazing experience to inject every location, repertoire, description, etc. into the most customized piece of entertainment for yourself.

blue_jay

Here lies the danger. Ever visit reddit.com/r/writing? (I know, I know, the first rule of Reddit is to never talk about Reddit.) The writing section is almost wholly dedicated to fiction writing. And don’t get me wrong; I am not trying to make anyone feel bad. I know most of us write fiction because of the feeling of having our adventures customized. That said, most of the shared stories are simply awful. Below is a list of my personal pet peeves.

When writing fiction, do not:

  • Over-describe

    Instead of loading down your sentences with adjectives, how about picking a stronger noun? Wouldn’t it be easier on the reader to picture a golden, gleaming braid than a braid pulled and wrapped with no stray hair, showing the shine on every pale wheat-colored bump? Maybe it’s the copywriter in me, but using fewer words helps to deliver the idea more efficiently.

  • Give people artificial dialogue

    Read it aloud. One of the most frequent offenders in my opinion is “brother” or “sister”. I don’t address my siblings like that, and neither does anyone I know. In a similar vein, another one is making people sound very proper. People just don’t eloquently get a message out every time.

  • Forget context

    Many writers forget essential information that clue the reader in on what is happening. Experienced writers can use this to their advantage to make the reader question if they have missed something or it’s all part of a plan to pleasantly surprise the reader with the missing information down the road.

Fiction is not really my forte, but I hope you enjoyed my advice nonetheless. Some subreddits I have discovered that fall in line with my interests are /r/SEO, /r/webmarketing, /r/socialmedia…There really are so many at our fingertips!

 

Author: writingisforbirds

I am a marketing professional who loves to write. My interests are everything from crafts to social issues to birds to SEO.

Leave a Reply

